Follow

User Access

When a user is added to a Project, it is important to give the user access. You can always change rights.

Article overview

  • Administrate user access - How to?
  • Access
  • Admin.-roles
  • Groups / Workspace
  • Publication / Publication space
  • Distribution / Distribution space
  • Notifications
  • Synchronisation

 

Administrate user access – How to? 

  1. Open the Project
  2. Select the module ”Project administration” and select ”Users”
  3. Click on a user (or add a new)
  4. A new window opens, and you can give the access
    – Follow the rest of the article to understand the tabs and how you give user access:

User_right_1.png

 

Access

By the tab ”Access” you can mark the modules the user gets access to. The following modules can be selected:  

Workspace – The user can access the file area
Publication space – The user can access the file area
Distribution space – The user can access the file area
Communication – The user can send a message to other users and see an address list
Log – The user can see the history of the project

 

Admin.-roles

By the tab ”Admin. roles” you select if the user should have access as an administrator. The following roles can be selected:

Project administrator – is able to manage users, lists, folders, files, all in general
Administrator of the Publication space – is able to manage the lists, folders and files of the Publication space
Administrator of the Distribution space – is able to manage the lists and files of the Distribution space
Coordinator of the Distribution space – is able to manage the Coordinator lists in the Distribution space

 

Groups / Workspace

Access in the workspace is given by adding a user to a group. Afterwards you give the group rights to selected folders in the Workspace. The following options can be selected for a folder:

Download – The group will be able to download files from the folder
Upload
– The group will be able to upload files to the folder
Move
– The group will be able to move files from the folder
Delete
– The group will be able to delete files from the folder
Manage folders
– The group will be able to create subfolders to the folder

Folder permissions in the Workspace:

  1. Go to the Workspace
  2. Select the folder you want to give a group rights to
  3. Select the button ”Set folder permissions”
  4. A new window opens and you can choose the permissions of the groups
  5. Mark the access you want to give the group
  6. If the permission ’image’ is the same on all subfolders to the selected folder, you can mark the ”Copy permissions to all subfolders”

User_rights_2.png

 

Publication / Publication space

By the tab ”Publication” you mark the rights you want to give the user in the Publication space. The following options can be selected for each Document list:

Access – The user will be able to see and download files from the list
Publish – The user will be able to publish files to the folders in the list
Distribute – The user will be able to distribute files from the list to the Distribution space

 

Distribution / Distribution space

By the tab ”Distribution” you mark the distribution lists the user gets access to in the Distribution space. You can only select to give ”Access” – Which gives the possibility to see and download files from the list.

 

Notifications

By the tab ”Notifications” you select which e-mails the user receives. Following options can be selected:

Workspace, new file versions – A daily summary of new file versions
Publishing area, new publications
– Within 3 hours of the publication of a new file
Assigned distribution lists
– Within 3 hours of the distribution of new file versions
Other, open distribution lists
– Within 3 hours of the distribution of the distribution of new file versions
New files in version set
– A daily summary of new file versions

 

Synchronisation

By the tab ”Synchronisation” you get the following options after clicking on the button ”Synchronisation” and selected a user from the appearing list:

Copying – The user rights are copied from the selected user to the user you want to change the rights to
Chaining users
– Two users are chained for automatic synchronization of access and privilege settings

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk